Five classic board games

A friend has a beautiful house (well, cabin might be more accurate) on a lake in Maine. It’s not insulated, so you can’t live there year-round. So it’s a summer vacation house, and it’s a bit of a time capsule, filled with flotsam and knick-knacks from the 70s. Including a killer collection of board games.

Anybody remember …

hollywood squares board game

That’s TV host Peter Marshall in the picture. Apparently Peter’s given name was actually Ralph Pierre LaCock. At some point that was deemed not fitting for a television personality.

Movin’ on! How about…

masterpiece board game

Art auction madness! At some point I loved this game. Now that I’ve played it again, I can’t recall the attraction.

Side note: My family was big on board games. I was an insufferable poor loser. Why they let me keep joining in, I do not know.

scribbage dice game

Who could forget Scribbage? Um, me. But maybe you remember it. Looks like a mashup of Scrabble and Speed Dominos.

payday board game

I LOVED PAYDAY! Now my daughter loves PayDay.

trouble board game

And here’s Trouble, with the famous Pop O Matic die roller (also used on another Kohner game, Headache). Good times. Perhaps one of the last commercial products to advertise itself as “frustrating” – see upper left of box.

Got any stuff like this in your attic?

15 Responses to “Five classic board games”


  1. 1 Harvey September 7, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Wow, I just had a similar discussion with my Dad, but about old TVs. This is the first one his Dad bought, and I remember they were still using it when I was a real little kid:

  2. 2 Derek Slater September 8, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Cool!

    I shoulda taken a picture of the rotary phone too.

    They had a few other things I shot – will post randomly :)

  3. 3 Matt September 8, 2009 at 10:44 am

    I remember playing the board game version of “Password” on the Cape when the weather was bad. In one of those “as-if-it-was-yesterday” memories, I remember my older brother not thinking I would know what the word “parentheses” was.

    I can picture everything about that scene even though it was 35+ years ago. Weird.

    Incidentally, that is how I learned chess. In 1972 my brother was following Fischer – Spassky and taught me the moves on the Cape during a rainy day. Damn him :)

  4. 4 Liquid Egg Product September 8, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Wow. Those were the days before they had to include a token black guy on the cover.

  5. 5 Derek Slater September 8, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Congratulations to Liquid Egg Product for making Reassembler’s 2,500th comment!

    You win the usual prize!

  6. 6 Matt September 9, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Dang!! Off by one! Wait, don’t you start from zero, like in C?

    ***** BEGIN SHAMELESS_PLUG *****
    P.S. Week 2 USCL action tonight, Blitz vs. Carolina. Totally worth the (now) $70 ICC annual fee. http://www.uschessleague.com, http://www.boston-blitz.com, http://www.chessclub.com

    P.P.S As always, the Blitz are looking for corporate and/or personal sponsors. http://www.boston-blitz.com/sponsors
    ***** END SHAMELESS PLUG *****

  7. 7 Derek Slater September 9, 2009 at 10:06 am

    re: counting – no.

    re: Blitz – US Chess League is awesome. I’ll reup my incredibly generous sponsorship ($20) again this year. Boston will presumably win now that it has good management. *cough* ;)

  8. 8 Matt September 9, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Hey, I am 21-9 in the regular season as manager, made the playoffs each year, the finals twice, etc. etc. Far, far better than the USATE teams I’ve been on, *cough, cough*

    :)

  9. 9 Liquid Egg Product September 9, 2009 at 11:28 am

    This should be shameful to admit, but I actually jumped out of my chair and cheered upon seeing the 2500th comment thing. Still don’t know why.

    Becoming a “Blitz Buddy” sounds interesting. It might be the only chess title seriously within reach.

  10. 10 Derek Slater September 9, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Matt: OKAY, I GET IT, I LOST BEHIND THE ROPES. I SCREWED UP THE WHOLE TOURNAMENT. LOOK IN YOUR HEART! LOOK IN YOUR HEART! (Turturro just at the end there. Sorry.)

    Egg Person: Who wouldn’t be excited, really?

  11. 11 Matt September 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I kid. I’m 0-2 behind the ropes now. :(

    LEP, you need a hobby.

    :)

  12. 12 Greg K. September 10, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Pro Draft was an old favorite of mine. It came with 50 Topps football cards from 1974. Looking back at the game as an adult, I think that the most interesting thing about it is the cards themselves. On the back of each is a little cartoon that contains a “fun fact” about the player on the card.

    Some examples:

    “Player X is a bellhop in the offseason”

    “Player Y works on an assembly line in the offseason”

    “Player Z drives a bus in the offseason”

    You get the idea. Professional football has changed a lot since then.

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/49071

  13. 13 Derek Slater September 11, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    That’s cool. At first I thought I’d never heard of it, but the pic looks familiar. One of my friends must have had it.

    “is a bellhop in the offseason”. Wow.

  14. 14 Keith September 14, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Does that pop-o-matic in the photo still work after 30,000 pops?


  1. 1 Five classic board games « Reassembler | boardgame Trackback on September 7, 2009 at 12:19 am
Comments are currently closed.



I Tweet

  • Today is my last day at Fierce - thank you everyone for your support and interest. Good company. New direction for me starts Monday! 1 week ago
  • I'm starting a Kickstarter campaign to raise money to fund social media amplification for my next Kickstarter campaign. 1 week ago
  • RT @FierceITSec: Attackers exploit universal plug and play device protocols to launch massive DDoS attacks dlvr.it/7DPdsB 1 week ago

Encomia for Reassembler

"Being completely full of it can assume the level of high art." - W. Berry

"...overrated." - M. Phelps

"You basically have no clue what you're talking about." - T.Tam

"This...is so bad I didn't even consider it." - Anonymous

"Your personal attack has been duly noted." - Anonymous Greg

"You have departed from reality." - J. Gallant

"...I was put off by the variety of topics..." - H. Reed

"Your blog...should not be read." - L.E. Product

"It makes me angry!" - S. Pawn

"You're kind of all over the place." - M.Kaprielian

"Bummer." - Anonymous Greg

"I read your blog and read and read, and finally I just said...I don't get it." - B.Brown

"Honestly, who cares?" - Nick

"Your [sic] a dumb*ss" - Anonymous

Blog Stats

  • 130,867 hits

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 320 other followers

