Typed on my artisan Dell PC using artisan blog software

Hm. I thought they had given it up, but I caught a commercial yesterday and they’re still doing it. Wendy’s is still calling their sandwich bread “artisan”. Evidently because they actually bake that bread in the restaurants. Wow!

Others such as the Language Guy have called them on this already but it’s so patently offensive that I think I’ll chime in. Marketing at its absolute worst, i.e. lying. The word artisan indicates that a trained, skilled craftsman is creating the product. Mass produced stuff isn’t artisan stuff. Toyota cars are nice cars but not artisan cars. Wendy’s bread might well be delicious bread but not artisan bread.

You don’t get to simply pick whatever advertising words might suck in as many buyers as possible, regardless of accuracy.

2 thoughts on “Typed on my artisan Dell PC using artisan blog software

Comments are closed.