Capsaicin

Spicy food, done well, lights up your brain in a different way and makes you feel alive. Surprisingly, my Massachusetts born-and-bred wife, who grew up on Irish meat and potatoes and had never even eaten a taco until we got married, turns out to love spicy food too. Chinese Hot and Sour Soup is now her comfort food.

As I’ve mentioned, Chilli Peppers restaurant on the Outer Banks makes my favorite hot sauce. (They seem to have changed their website – hope they haven’t stopped selling the sauce.) I also really like Cholula, El Yucateco green chili habanero, Orange Krush, and Blair’s Jalapeno Tequila for various purposes. The key is taste, not just heat. For example, Blair’s Jalapeno Tequila, since I have a bottle sitting next to me, is made from water, jalapenos, tomatillo, white vinegar, cilantro, garlic, shallots, habaneros, sugar, onion, lime juice, olive oil, tequila, black pepper and vitamin C.  Sounds like actual food.

If you simply want to burn yourself, there are tons of sauces sold purely on the basis of threatened endorphin overload. See examples at famous sauce purveyor Mo Hotta Mo Betta, with names like 911, Acid Rain, Atlanta Burning, etc etc. 

And for sheer morbid curiosity, here’s a page that purports to rank the hottest commercially available sauces, the winner being “Blair’s 16 Million Reserve” at 16 million Scoville units, which apparently is now in the Guiness Book of World Records and requires that you sign a waiver before ordering. Does NOT sound like actual food.

3 thoughts on “Capsaicin

  1. That’s funny because I skip the wasabi. But my wife loves it. And I can’t touch Chinese restaurant mustard. Haven’t figured that out yet.

    Hey, I tried to post a comment on your site this morning and got some kind of weird error.

Comments are closed.