Salt

Yesterday I had a unique fusion meal, a concoction that maybe possibly noone has ever eaten before:

A can of Hormel chili.

Topped with organic mild cheddar cheese.

Served over … (wait for it…)  quinoa.

Quinoa is the so-called “supergrain” from South America, loaded with fiber, amino acids, protein. Hormel chili, on the other hand, where do I start? The expiration date on this “food” substance was 2010. That is not a typo. 2010. Servings per container? Two. Percent of US recommended daily sodium intake, per serving? Forty! So this dinner provided at least 80% of my day’s sodium.

Maybe it’s time to kick Hormel chili to the curb. As a cook, I am sparing with the salt. I am amazed as Emeril ladels fistfuls of the stuff over every dish. I am aghast as dinner guests shake shake shake salt over every course of the meal.

My wife recently treated me to dinner with friends at Blue Ginger, Ming Tsai’s restaurant in Wellesley, Mass. I’ve waited years to get there. The waitress warned us that my wife’s Kung Pao dish would be salty. It was, too much so. She did not warn us about my pork chop, which was also dramatically oversalted. (Remember, this is coming from a guy who can eat a can of Hormel NaCl.) Good thing the parsnip side dish, the dessert and the Venum Chenin Blanc (which outside of the fancy restaurant context would apparently qualify for my Good Cheap Wine list) were so fantastic.

4 thoughts on “Salt

  1. a can of hormel chili over quinoa? that is surreal. i don’t use so much salt when i cook, and we never salt our food after it’s served. thing is, on all the cooking shows, they say you gotta salt like crazy, and they do, and me and my wife cringe when we see it. that is cool you to to eat at ming tsai’s place, too bad everything was so salty. i like ming tsai, my brother (a chef who apparently met him) said he’s a dick though….

Comments are closed.