Geoduck

If, like me, you were mystified by the “gooey duck” ingredient in last week’s Top Chef:

It’s not a duck. It’s a giant burrowing clam with a typical life span of about 150 years. Unless it’s killed early for a reality TV show.

Wikipedia says the name is probably the result of a mistranscription, but that’s the commonly accepted spelling now. Sorta like still calling Native Americans “Indians” just because European explorers thought they’d landed in India. Oops. (Not that “Americans” is any less eurocentric.)

4 thoughts on “Geoduck

  1. We were also mystified, and had to look it up. Now, although its unlikely that I will ever have be within a continent of a Geoduck, I am obsessed with figuring out how I would prepare if I had to….

  2. We were also mystified, and had to look it up. Now, although its unlikely that I will ever be within a continent of a Geoduck, I am obsessed with figuring out how I would prepare if I had to….

Leave a Reply

