The mojito

I offered a mojito to a visitor and he was surprised when I started my relatively labor-intensive preparation. Said he’d only had the pre-mixed kind before.

Ugh. Please. The world’s most refreshing summer drink can’t come from a bottle of mix. Here’s a simple recipe.

1. Make simple syrup. 1 cup sugar, 1 cup water, bring to a boil to dissolve the sugar. Cool. (You can store this syrup safely in the fridge for a day or two, which is handy.)

2. Take out a tall glass. Put in a tablespoon or two of simple syrup and optionally a sprinkle of raw cane sugar. Add juice of 1/2 to 1 whole lime (you can add lime segments if you prefer muddling instead of juicing). Add several fresh mint leaves (crushed or muddled). Add cubed ice. Add 1/4 glass of very smooth rum (recommended: Westerhall Plantation). Top off with cold club soda. Stir.

3. Enjoy.

4. Moderate your intake because they’re quite sneaky.

5. Adjust proportions to your liking in future servings. I like more lime juice than my wife does.

11 thoughts on “The mojito

  1. My recipe for year-round enjoyment:

    1. Open bottle of Harpoon IPA
    2. Drink
    3. Repeat

    No seriously, we (meaning my wife) make margaritas from scratch too. Good stuff, especially with “white” tequila!

    -Matt

  2. I second Matt’s recipe (although Sam Adams Summer Ale is tops in my book – with a lemon – you can’t beat it).

    The all-time summer drink for me however is Bombay & Tonic.

    “I’m feeling supersonic – give me gin & tonic”

  3. Mmmmmm… Bombay Saphire and tonic…

    The secret is to put in the ice, then put the lime wedge on top and slowly pour the gin over the lime, then add the tonic. Yum.

  4. i once went on a mint julip kick, went through lots of mint…not as intensive as a mojito but, now i wanna make and drink mojitos…thanks for the recipe…

  5. Mouth watering. Want to leave work.

    A fresh mojito can’t be beat IMO. I’ve never had a good one at a bar. A crappy restaurant in LA advertised it had the best mojito’s in the world, and I believed them. On vacation, I went for it. It was basically just gin and tonic with lime. No sugar, except on the rim. And a couple of mint leaves thrown on top. Those lying bastards will hear from my lawyer.

  6. Matt – Science!

    CL – Reminds me of Kentucky! (Okay I’ve never had a julep. Caught me. I’m not big on bourbon or whiskey but if you add enough mint and sugar, motor oil tastes good.)

    BDK – Yeah, that ain’t right. Surely in LA you can find others and band together for a class action.

    Best mojito I’ve ever had was in fact at a restaurant:
    http://www.goodfoodgoodwine.com/ on the Outer Banks. Preposterously good. Also try the toffee cake if they have it.

  7. three years no alcohol in one more month but, reading this, gives me a pause.

    but seriously, much as i appreciate IT, for me it has a bad effect, that is to say is a depressive for some persons…

    love your stuff, as always, dk

Leave a Reply

