The 100-year-old man

I am visiting my grandfather Charlie. He’s 100 years old.

The year he was born, Oklahoma became a state. Gene Autry was born that year. The radio tube was invented that year.

He worked full-time at a lumber mill making molding until 1972, but continued part-time until he drew his last paycheck in 1990, at the age of 83.

He was married to my grandmother Ione for more than 60 years. After his vision started to fail, he would still drive with her in the passenger seat telling him what color the stoplights were.

A few years ago, his rotten neighbor Johnny, the drunken layabout, siphoned gas out of his truck. His response: “I’m just glad I had it to lose!” (Although he also has a gun and would shoot Johnny if Johnny came in his house.)

He lives alone in the house he bought 51 years ago. Hurricane Katrina knocked a humongous pine tree down on his house, crushing his kitchen. His response: “Sure am glad I wasn’t in the kitchen!”

In his refrigerator you’ll find:

  • Orange juice
  • Hershey’s chocolate bars
  • Jack Daniels

His hearing and vision and short-term memory aren’t great. But he’s the happiest man in the world.

4 thoughts on “The 100-year-old man

  1. “I didn’t think I’d make it to 70!” (direct quote)

    So yesterday we’re sitting there in his house and the phone rings. My mom answers, listens for a minute, hangs up.

    Her: “Papa, that was somebody who wanted to bury you.”

    Him, after short pause: “Did you tell them I’m not quite ready yet?”

  2. That’s awesome.

    Reminds me of the Mainer who was asked if he’d lived in Maine his whole life:

    “Not yet.”

    God bless Charlie. May he make it to 200!

    -Matt

Comments are closed.