More obscurata

A quick guide to still more obscure references on Reassembler:

Dismally yours takes its title from economics’ common description as “the dismal science”.

The horror is Kurtz’s final line in Apocalypse Now. Actually he says it at least twice. Not sure if that quote is in the movie’s source document, Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness. (I also affectionately refer to the current header image as “the horror” owing to the expression of the woman on the left.)

CJ with the broccolini in the airplane was probably obvious – a reference to the murder mystery board game Clue.

Greg K correctly noted in the comments that detonate all my smart bombs was a reference to the arcade game Defender – you had a very limited supply of smart bombs which would blog up every bad guy on the screen when you were in trouble. My friends and I enjoyed pointing out to each other (frequently and loudly, in the manner of teens) how stupid it was to lose your last ship while you still had smart bombs left. I was terrible at Defender but very good at Gorf.

Seems like I’m not as obscure as I used to be.

5 thoughts on “More obscurata

  1. Thanks. I knew there must be Conrad fans among us. (Actually not but I hoped.) – English was his second language, if I remember correctly? Astonishingly unfair. I can’t write a novel in my first language.

  2. Actually, I despise Conrad’s writing. The only reason I know of Heart of Darkness is that its framework (an inwardly conflicted narrator’s relationship with an ambitious, larger-than-life, and ultimately tragic character) was the model for two of my favorite works of American literature, All the King’s Men and The Great Gatsby.

    Conrad himself I think spoke Polish as his first language but to me his works are extremely dense (Heart of Darkness, for example, is an absolute chore to get through even though it is a very short novel) and read very much like a translation. To me, he is the complete opposite of Nabokov who, like Conrad, wrote in English as a second language but who, unlike Conrad, has a remarkably sharp, witty and entertaining style.

  3. Oh fine, rain on my parade. (Not that I have any attachment to Conrad myself.)

    Let’s see, Engaging Pieces (nonfiction part), The Disorder of Things, some dude’s five-book series on the brain, then Wodehouse, then Nabokov.

    I’ll just knock these out in a jiffy. Not.

Comments are closed.