Nakamura

Unless that dastardly fiend Tim Newman is putting one over on me, former US chess champ Hikaru Nakamura just blew up heavyweight GM Michael Krasenkow in a most spectacular fashion….

Krasenkow (2668) – Nakamura (2648)

1.Nf3 Nf6 2.c4 e6 3.g3 d5 4.Bg2 Be7 5.0-0 0-0 6.b3 a5 7.Nc3 c6 8.d4 Nbd7 9.Qc2 b6 10.e4 Ba6 11.Nd2 c5 12.exd5 cxd4 13.Nb5 exd5 14.Nxd4 Rc8 15.Re1 b5 16.Bb2 Re8 17.Qd1 bxc4 18.bxc4 Qb6 19.Rb1 dxc4 20.Nc6 Rxc6 21.Bxf6
Krasenkow-Nakamura

21…Qxf2+!! 22.Kxf2 Bc5+ 23.Kf3 Rxf6+ 24.Kg4 Ne5+ 25.Kg5 Rg6+ 26.Kh5 f6 27.Rxe5 Rxe5+ 28.Kh4 Bc8 0-1

Wow! This is from a tournament in Barcelona, Spain. I’ll be curious to see GM annotations but as a spectator, that’s the kind of game that sets your blood boiling.

I have no doubt that Nakamura could calculate it out to mate after …Qxf2; what blows my mind is that it seems he must have seen the idea prior to playing …Qb6. Otherwise why expose the Queen to the obvious Rb1 and potential discovered attack?

Ya think?

4 thoughts on “Nakamura

  1. And it just goes to show how incomprehensible this level of chess is to me… for example the center pawn squabble in moves 10-14 is something that I can look at and say, “wow I see it, but couldn’t even contemplate it during actual play”. Not even in correspondence chess…

    On the other hand, because I’ve been trained by CT-ART 3.0 to look for sacs, I do occasionally come up with something. Not necessarily like Nakamura, but for my level (bottom-feeder) it has a “sac for attack” appeal.

    Here is one of my better examples. It’s from a correspondence game on CCLA:
    http://www.iccf-webchess.com/MakeAMove.aspx?id=109781

    I was Black, and my opponent got out of “book”, or rather out of “database” (it’s a correspondence game and you can search past games) on 12.c3. There was nothing, no games whatsoever anywhere. So I thought to myself, well this has to be great for Black, I just need to find out why.

    My reasoning and analysis led me to the somewhat fuzzy conclusion that this allows me to bust the King in the center. Which happened. Of course if I was playing a much higher rated person, like yourself, I’m sure there is a punishment out there for my outrageous moves, but still it felt good :-) I’m sure you could spot stuff like this right away…

    BTW the CCLA / New Met League is firming up. As you know we have four OTB Clubs playing in two matches, Univ of CT is finishing their roster, we’re in discussion with Idaho and Florida about state level participation, and I’m getting more CT leads.

    If you know of some IN/KY/OH OTB Clubs that are interested in “Met League” style matches, let me know.

    CCLA: http://chessbymail.com/
    New Met League blog: http://newmetleague.blogspot.com/
    You can find newsletters and and an introduction doc on the right column of the blog

    Anyone out there in blog-ville who is in an OTB Club can contact me about setting up an OTB Club vs. OTB Club match via webserver correspondence chess… (end of shameless plug)

    Amici Sumus!
    Harvey Reed

Leave a Reply

