Brain overload, part 2

Way back in February, which seems roughly two lifetimes ago, I had a week of offsite training, complete with a team case study – quite intensive. And since I was leaving from there for the annual USATE chess tournament, I was simultaneously trying to process all that information AND spend my evenings sharpening the competitive blade, cramming on my chess opening books. [Original Brain overload post here.]

A point I’ve belabored with this blog is that lighting up your brain is great. That’s part of why I blog in the first place, and why the subjects are all over the map, and why I enjoy reading comments here from you eclectic weird- er, diverse commentators. [Smile.] However, brain overload also really wears you out.

It’s been another one of those weeks – on top of a sad family event (the funeral) and the perpetually busy work schedule in my perpetually metamorphing industry, plus those darn Red Sox, I’ve been trying to sneak in preparation for the Greater Boston Open. (Which will also explain why I probably won’t be posting anything this weekend, but look forward to having something new to say on Monday.) 

Chessloser just blogged about the odd but universal phenomenon of studying intently and learning new ideas only to see your performance degrade. (Chess has a rating system that makes your performance quite empirically measurable.) The comments, aside from my garbled metaphoric hash, are really interesting as people try to describe the mind’s efforts to sort out new information and put it all properly in place.

4 thoughts on “Brain overload, part 2

  1. [regarding chess performance]

    It could be that our performance (ELO) is not a measure of what we “know”. It is really a measure of what we “do”. Perhaps these are different…

  2. Derek — Stopped by the GBO today and saw that you were doing your best Boston Red Sox impersonation while the rest of the open section was doing their Colorado Rockies act. Nicely done! Hope you had a good result in your last game as well. Either way, it looks like your performance is catching up to your knowledge (or something like that). First board awaits you at USATE!

Comments are closed.