Your brain on music

Went to Barnes & Noble, armed with various suggestions from previous comments here: The Disorder of Things, several brain books by Steven Pinker, Jared Diamond’s Collapse, et cetera. In the Science section I did find Pinker’s How the Mind Works, which is now a decade old.

And what did I buy? None of these! Instead my attention caught on This is Your Brain on Music by Daniel Levitin. I’ve already betrayed my interest in the subject here and here. A cover quote from Talking Heads smart guy/weirdo David Byrne says that playing a musical instrument “coordinates more disparate parts of the brain than almost anything else.”

Probably won’t be able to read it until the week after Christmas, but, to borrow a line from The Princess Bride, I quiver with anticipation.

One thought on “Your brain on music

Comments are closed.