Openings: the Chinese buffet

One woman is plating a glop of vegetarian delight and a duo of steamed shao mai with a side dish of the virulent Chinese Restaurant Mustard. 

At a nearby table the gent is tucking into a raft of egg foo yung, seafood fantasia, boneless spare ribs. Teriyaki sticks pointing up like a porcupine’s bristles. Big pile of fried rice dumped over the top of everything. (I dub thee Mount MSG.)

To each his own, that’s the point of a buffet. Chess openings are the same way. Yes, you can play the Goring Gambit, c3 anti-Sicilians, the Exchange French and the Queen’s Indian. Still, I’m just faintly puzzled as to how you arrived at that particular combination plate.

11 thoughts on “Openings: the Chinese buffet

  1. As you’ve previously described it, it seems like you haven’t got a repertoire, but more of an “ephemeral pastiche.” Or a cobbler. Or a dump cake. Or something like that. :)

    I do love that …f6 story.

  2. Still, I’m just faintly puzzled as to how you arrived at that particular combination plate.
    I like to try a little of everything (except maybe a few things that just look far too exotic for my tastes). Then go back and fill up on what I like. But what I like changes over time.

    I tried a QID once, but it led to heartburn and I have not tried it since. A Danish Gambit is nice early in the morning, and especially in a coffeehouse setting. I used to have a taste for Pelikan (sicilian) but I think it is now endangered.

  3. For some reason, I had the impression you wore glasses b/c of your avatar. Paying attention, it’s now obvious that the eyes were drawn large.

    Last year, there was a guy who was selling a cut-price, lightly used book on the Queen’s Indian. Which I bought. So far, I’ve not met person #1 who actually uses the thing.

    At Chinese buffets? The untried/most exotic stuff goes first. Even if it has to be in small quantities.

  4. Maximus – nice. Took me a minute.

    Egg – QID is either too boring or too sophisticated for club chess. We’ve got some Slav and Semislav players at my club, some KID. Rarely a Nimzo. And a disproportionate number of Leningrad Dutches (possibly John Curdo’s influence).

  5. I heard that my projected opponent at the club next Tuesday plays the Alekhine’s with Black. Speaking of dump cakes, I was thinking of catching him by surprise by inviting a transposition into a Blackmar-Diemer via 1. e4 Nf6 2. Nc3 d5 3. d4!! What do you think?

  6. a) he spent 20 years playing the BDG himself, and he knows it doesn’t work (and why);

    b) he spent even longer playing the French, so he also has the option of 3…e6.

    But his wife’s going out of town so he’s unlikely to show up anyway. Not that he’s scared mind you :)

  7. (a) Yeah, but does he know it well enough to face it unexpectedly against an opponent who has never studied or played it?

    (b) Phooey. That would very unsporting :)

    I am unlikely to attend next week myself, having effectively “traded” that day for a BCC tournament I played in last night. Our rematch will have to wait until another time….

Comments are closed.