So somebody lost your personal data

They might or might not have to tell you, depending both on the circumstances and on the state in which you live. There are 38.5 different state “data breach disclosure laws”.

And you can find all the disclosure laws linked from this handy map. (Requires flash & popups.)

One thought on “So somebody lost your personal data

  1. I was surprised to learn this when I started at my job and I was doing banking compliance testing.

    Also to verify client identities we pay a company which has a database and we put in SSN, DOB, Name, Address and it tells us if these match their database (and gives all other addresses, phone numbers, DL numbers, etc about this person). I had no idea that there were databases like this in existence that are basically just a compilation of everything you have ever provided about yourself. I think it’s pretty scary.

Comments are closed.