USATE 08 rounds four and five: The case for two sections

Simple Minds’ team rating (average of four players) was 2049. Here are our opponents’ approximate team ratings by round:

1  1700     won 4-0

2  2197      lost 1.5-2.5

3  1500      won 4-0

4  1700       won 4-0

5   1750     won 3.5-0.5

Bear in mind that the first two rounds use accelerated pairings, the upshot being higher-rated opponents than we would otherwise face. The pairings revert to normal in round three, so unless you have a perfect score you always experience a big dropoff there. But by round 5, you’d hope for something closer to your own rating.

As Greg K said afterwards, I know it’s somewhat counter to the spirit of the thing, but I’d rather see them split it into two sections. You could call the top one a Pro-Am.

3 thoughts on “USATE 08 rounds four and five: The case for two sections

  1. That would also quiet the people who think that there should be a maximum 1000 point rating difference between boards 1 and 4; however, even though I’ve never played at the USATE, I think it should stay one big section. Or make it G/60 so there could be more rounds and less claustrophobia at the top. I mean, isn’t G/60 more in the spirit of amateurism than those “slow” time controls?

  2. Not to me. G/60 is more in the spirit of “faster”. That’s it. I love slow chess because I am slow, not because it’s more (or less) professional.

    My sense based strictly on conversations with various opponents was that the 3 GM lineup was not widely embraced. But all these rule proposals are strictly a matter of opinion and preference, not right and wrong. It wasn’t cheating, or unethical, or anything of the sort. “Most amateurs didn’t like it” is probably as good a definition as we’ll get for “the spirit of amateurism” in this context.

  3. This is not exactly a hot-button issue for me, for the reasons Derek gives. That said, I think that the 3-GM team definitely violates “the spirit of amateurism” however one defines it because the team simply did not have a single player that could reasonably be called an amateur (three professionals and a complete beginner).

Comments are closed.