Oysters Churbuck

She asked why I fished, was it for food? The sport? Communing with nature? I thought for a second, not quite sure, and realized the answer was too weird to say out loud and that is this: I think people are happiest standing in knee-deep water with a fishing rod or clam rake in their hand, because it’s there, half-in-and-out of the brine, that a few million years ago something strange crawled out of the depths and began the process of standing on dry land…

David Churbuck, What I am reading: The Big Oyster. You have to read the whole post to get the full effect and the punchline.

5 thoughts on “Oysters Churbuck

  1. Interesting about oysters, I love them, some people hate them but it seems that very few people are lukewarm or neutral on the subject. Kind of like Presidents of the United States.

  2. OK, visited the link; here’s the post:

    Oh no! You’re looking for something which just isn’t here! Fear not however, errors are to be expected, and luckily there are tools on the sidebar for you to use in your search for what you need.

    While an interesting post, I’m missing the punchline.

  3. I can’t wait to see your Clams with Grape Sauce. :)

    I had the pleasure of working with D Churbuck for a brief time. To a significant extent he ushered me into the Web era professionally. But he did not convince me to eat another oyster, and probably never will.

Leave a Reply

