Grinding

Crabbing, cooking, and search engine optimization. What do they have in common?

The crab boats in the Bering Sea frequently work 12, 18, 24-hour shifts. Hard, dangerous, physical tasks that slowly reduce the deckhands to robotic workers. They call it grinding. Pot after pot after pot.

Catering a large meal or working a long shift, line chefs similarly speak of grinding. The same dishes churned out plate after plate after plate.

Search engine optimization is white-collar grinding. After the consultants have gone and the endless parade of SEO expert bloggers have turned in for the night, somebody has to sit hour after hour, writing headlines, building links, doing the actual work. It’s monotonous and repetitive and it turns out I have the right form of OCD or ADD or whatever it takes, because I actually like it. (Tho having a glass of wine nearby doesn’t hurt.)

8 thoughts on “Grinding

  1. Just wanted to remind you about the new season of the hit show Deadliest Catch on The Discovery Channel–broadcast in HD for the first time! New episodes premiere every Tuesday night at 9PM. If you haven’t seen it before, Deadliest Catch follows the now legendary captains and their crews as they endure the brutal Bering Sea doing one of the deadliest jobs in the world – Alaskan Crab Fishing. Also, check out the ultimate fan community with the new Deadliest Catch WIKI. Viewers can congregate for weekly challenges and win Deadliest Catch prizes. Find the Wiki here:
    http://www.deadliest-catch-wiki.discovery.com

  2. Wow, I’m torn. Do I just delete that crappy spam off my blog, or do I keep it and make fun of it and go write unpleasant notes on their wiki? Hm.

  3. I guess I have to keep my unpleasant notes here.

    DISCOVERY CHANNEL – NICE SPAM! WHAT DIMWIT DECIDED TO AUTOMATE PLACING ADVERTISEMENTS ON BLOGS?

    (Yes, I know I’m shouting.)

Comments are closed.