The third little piggie got eaten

Finally made the carne adovada. (Click through to the other blog – great food pictures.)

I overcooked it – how much? well, my wife wound up putting barbeque sauce on hers – and the avocado was a little under-ripe, but it was still quite tasty. I think next time I’ll be able to make it perfectly.

It went very nicely with homemade limeade: club soda, simple syrup, fresh lime juice, a few mint leaves, ice. You might notice that’s essentially a mojito with no rum.

This is my idea of a good father’s day.

6 thoughts on “The third little piggie got eaten

  1. i got the top chef cookbook for father’s day. then we went to the black canyon in gunnison. it was a great day overall.

    what other blog are you talking about? i love food pictures.

  2. Wow. All it takes is inviting yourself over, and you’re welcome?

    I gotta try that with some of these other bloggers.

    Oh, and if you’re ever in the Houston area…same courtesy…except I won’t be back for 2 weeks. Then it’ll take another 2 weeks to make the place look decent.

  3. Well, I still owe a dinner to my USATE teammates. So my intent is good but my followthrough is spotty.

    It’ll take more than 2 weeks to make Houston look decent (rimshot!). Actually I lived there in ’78. When I was, um, negative five years old, yeah. Great texmex – hm, maybe you should be the one making the carne adovada.

Comments are closed.