Gracious people

With the sixth pick in the NBA draft, the New York Knicks select… Danilo Gallinari of Italy.

Denizens of The Most Self-Important City in the World duly boo, as expected.

Gallinari responds in his interview by calmly saying

“New York is the greatest city in the world”

thereby proving himself ten notches better than what their fans deserve. And better than me as well. Personally, I wish they’d stuck with Isiah Thomas and continued to lose for the rest of my life. (And I say this even though I care not a whit about the NBA. Why is the draft on? Background noise for SEO.)

Update: Okay, then they had to go and cheer for Darrell Arthur after a long wait in the green room. I take it all back. Or some of it.

 

7 thoughts on “Gracious people

  1. I wasn’t WATCHING! I swear!

    Now I’m on Scanners. Not sure it’s the natural viewing companion for Shereshevsky, but it’s all I’ve got. TV really stinks tonight.

  2. Metropolis was outstanding. Incredible food — probably the best I’ve had on OBX. The menu is not traditional tapas like I had expected. It is more like an a-la-carte degustation menu of the highest quality. The food would hold its own in any of the finest restaurants I have been to.

    As for ambience, the bar is the architectural centerpiece of the restaurant, so I don’t think it is a good place for a romantic date (instead see Elizabeth’s or Left Bank) or for kids (instead see just about every other restuarant on OBX, including Blue Point).

  3. The funniest thing about the annually increasing attention and coverage for the various pro sports drafts is how mediocre most of the top picks will be when they actually have to play pro ball. It is hilarious.

    At least the Knicks got somebody gracious. I used to love NBA basketball when I was a kid in the 60s and 70s, but they lost me about the time Bird and Magic left. Somehow, as I aged the sight of a really tall dude slam-dunking then posturing, gesturing and beating his tattooed chest became less interesting.

    Also, what’s OBX? Those of us in flyover country need to know this stuff. :)

  4. An Italian player is acceptable as long as the NBA doesn’t decide to give yellow cards for flopping.

    Recommendation: start on World of Warcraft and relegate the TV. You’ll never have to worry about a bad TV night again.

  5. Big props to Donnie for making the 1,800th comment on reassembler. And for a sideways knock on soccer. Nice. (Usual prize.)

    I’m afraid if I start World of Warcraft I’ll never come back.

    Greg – Severely jealous :)

    Wahrheit – OBX = Outer Banks. In college my friend the Hawks fan gathered us to watch my first NBA game on tv. Guess which mid-eighties playoff game that happened to be?!

Leave a Reply

