Thought for the day

I tried to fail, but I did not succeed.

6 thoughts on “Thought for the day

  1. Those old bulletins are cool. I played very many of those guys. Upon teleportation, I think I could nearly instantly recognize that I was in room 310 in Davidson Hall at the University of Louisville.

    I see from a crosstable in this one:

    http://kychess.org/newsletters/9-84/sept84.pdf

    that my rating was higher than it is now! 25 years and down, oh, about 20 rating points. I guess there was a trip up close to 2100 there along the way, but still, I should’ve been better about keeping at it. I coulda been a contender, too!

  2. Ha – 301 Davidson, I can remember bounding up the staircase.

    Thanks for posting that – some great memories and I appreciate it.

    Don’t know if you remember but I have shaken hands w/ Geoff McAuliffe at USATE and (of course) also Dave Hater, in recent years.

    You was a contenda :) Once we drew and as we shook hands afterwards, you politely said “thanks and please don’t make me play that kind of boring stuff again” :)

Leave a Reply

