Either/or

I think I can officially say “I’m writing a book.” It might stink, but it’ll be like a super-expanded Reassembler entry: By putting it on paper (so to speak) I’ll get it out of my head and move on.

Chapter two is a bit delayed by the need to define the people, places and events in a more structured way.  Working on it. I suppose I’ll post chapter two here but if you really want to slog through the whole book (and I will bless you for providing your feedback), make sure I have your email address.

I intended to get back to the chess club after a long, long absence – essentially a year off, with a couple of random games plus USATE thrown in. But as my friend Anthony said, “Ain’t but 24 hours in a day.” Will playing OTB provide inspiration, or just take writing time off the table?

19 thoughts on “Either/or

  1. Ok, you found me out – I’ve always secretly wanted a Norwegian Forest Cat. The closest I came was a Maine Coon Cat, “Batman”…

    For writing, you’ll need to start the book with a death-defying scene, like:

    “A bunch of chess-players after the first round of a big prize international chess tournament, in an elevator plunging several stories downward, chess sets flying, clocks smashing against the walls and ceilings… was this just a mechanical failure, or was it something else, like….”

    (you have to finish the paragraph)

  2. Is this a fiction, non-fiction, historical, reference, dictionary, taxonomic, or what… kind of book? 1st person, 3rd person, 1st person shooter, or what…kind of perspective? Is this straight, sardonic, sarcastic, elliptic, flashback, loosely based, tightly coupled, or what… kind of style?

    Bored minds want to know – LOL

  3. Give the writer some distance, will ya. Don’t you know that writers hate to talk too much about their work before it’s finished?

    Now, Derek, was that non-fiction or….

    If you are truly writing a book, Derek, I’m more than happy to give it some serious, frank feedback.

    My pompous belief is that all aspiring writers have what I call American Idol Syndrome. Millions of Americans sing, thus millions of Americans delude themselves into thinking they sing well. Millions of Americans write…. Derek, I know you do not suffer from suck lack of modesty.

  4. Harvey – It’s a third-person semi-omnicient turn-based RPG with clear elements of homage to the original Castle Wolfenstein (the one where you had to bump into a wall to hide your gun), Archon for C64 and Lemonade Stand for Apple II.

    Howard – Like I said, it’ll stink but then I’ll be done with it. But also I’ve decided there’s something charming about people who have exceptional confidence w/o any basis in fact.

  5. “Dialog?, You really have trouble writing dialog?” said his teammate. His non-writer teammate. “How hard could it be? It’s just people talking.”

    “You do it.” Slater spat out.

    Phelps whipped out his smartphone and jabbed at it furiously for about two minutes.

    “There.” He shoved the screen in Slater’s face.

    Slater’s eyes darted back and forth quickly. Then his entire body sank.

    “I hate you.”

  6. “A bunch of chess-players after the first round of a big prize international chess tournament, in an elevator plunging several stories downward, chess sets flying, clocks smashing against the walls and ceilings… was this just a mechanical failure, or was it something else, like…” BAM! Derek was hit in the face by Matt’s phone as the elevator continues careening down the shaft… “No time for insipid dialog!” Derek says to Matt, “Screw you!” Matt replies, then…. [continued]

Leave a Reply

