Eureka

Thank you all for many generous offers to help critique the alleged book. I’m working on it. Several thousand words of notes on people, places, chronology, lies, food, and so forth.

In the meantime, said generous offers brought me to an even better idea: Instead of having each person *read* a chapter, why don’t we do a  (different) book where each person *writes* a chapter?

Faster, more interactive, less work for each individual, and with the same probability of commercial success!

Who’s in?

7 thoughts on “Eureka

  1. I’m in, but only if there’s some quality control and method to the madness. What’s the general topic? Chess?

  2. And while we’re on the topic of “what topic?,” what exactly is the thread running through your book, Derek? I guess I’ll find out soon enough….

    What are some pure chess books that need to be written? Just yesterday I thought of a few:

    (1) A book that teaches evaluation. Most, if not all, strategy books methodically plow through strategic element by strategic element, without weighing the relative importance of each imbalance. Silman may be an exception, but what book teaches evaluation?

    (2) How does one develop an opening repertoire? I’m not talking about the stuff covered in Steve Giddons’ book. That’s a decent enough book. What I’m referring to is something more technical, like how the Slav/Caro-Kann and Nimzo/French are “family” opening systems. What other “family systems are there? How does one optimize a repertoire for efficient study, weaving families of variations together, etc?

  3. I would be happy to contribute a chapter, Derek, but I’m already working on a chess memoir. I’ve been taking notes for about a half decade, and have about 250 detailed pages at this point. At some point I’m going to have to take a sabbatical and write. Of course, my goal is to become a respectable player first. :)

  4. Where were I all of June? Missing this? English is my second language, so I need a proof reader. Still, this would be fun, and your chapter was inspirational. I am in.

    Could publish as a kindle singlet on amazon?

Leave a Reply

