While I was away, Scott Adams (Dilbert) justified this blog and indeed my entire professional approach

If you aren’t the best at any one thing, learn about as many things as you can.

I’m a poor artist. Through brute force I brought myself up to mediocre. I’ve never taken a writing class, but I can write okay. If I have a party at my house, I’m not the funniest person in the room, but I’m a little bit funny, I can write a little bit, I can draw a little bit, and you put those three together and you’ve got Dilbert, a fairly powerful force.

I agree with his view, so it must be correct. (That’s how logic works, no?)

One thought on “While I was away, Scott Adams (Dilbert) justified this blog and indeed my entire professional approach

  1. I agree with his view, so it must be correct. (That’s how logic works, no?)

    At least, this is how humans work. And it’s darn hard work to stop doing that.

    As to the point, wholeheartedly agree. Chances are, guy isn’t the best at anything. So, you learn to cobble and adapt, and leverage your strengths.

    (In school, it was easy to be a big fish in a small pond. It was a real eye-opener to realize there are other people with my skills, and better!)

Comments are closed.