And now, the hard part

The fun part of the Third Age has been turning Stockfish on tactical positions.

But that’s not really what I need. I mean it’s useful and eye-opening, but it’s fundamentally about finding stuff you didn’t *see*.

The hard part (for me) is in staring down my technical deficiencies.

I’m posting this now as a reminder to myself — I will plug in three or four positions from a just-completed, and somewhat deflating, two-day tournament. These are positions where my evaluation was off versus Stockfish, and/or I didn’t grasp how to put required pressure against a certain pawn configuration or piece setup.

This is about stuff you didn’t *understand*.

Those lessons are very concrete.

Improvement might come slowly, because there might be a lot of such positions.

This is the hard part.

One thought on “And now, the hard part

Leave a Reply

