Searching for Howard Goldowsky

Long ago (2008) in a galaxy far far away (New England) * , Howard and I played a tournament game.

Afterwards we thought it might be interesting to do a joint annotation, showing the thinking process of both sides of the board.

Howard did a pretty extensive commentary after going over the game with a 2200-rated coach. Then I added my own notes. It was a fun and illuminating exercise (for me at least).

Now I have gone back to that post and added in Stockfish evaluations. Maybe less fun, but doubly illuminating! Find the resulting analytical masterpiece *here*.

I’m telling you, it’s right up there with Euwe or Silman.

Bonus: Here’s the original scoresheet! (You see I paid Howard his proper respect as an author.)

Goldowsky

* Yes I realize we’re mixing movie references with wild abandon.

